Co-Brushing – Like Parent Like Child

I guess, I am not alone in confessing that toothbrush time is really difficult to implement no matter how you, as a parent, are motivated enough to ensure healthy gums and teeth for your kiddos.

I have an eight-year-old boy who has already lost two of his permanent molars to eating hard candies and chewing gums. Besides his love for candies and gums, he hates the taste of toothpaste and the prickly feeling tooth brushing gives. In fact, I saw him one time washing the toothpaste off his brush to male be believe that he’s done cleaning his teeth even though he wasn’t. My constant reminder on him to toothbrush often end up with arguments and so I decided to look for another way to get him brushing his teeth for real.

As I browsed the web, I stumbled upon the phrase ‘like parent, like child’. It instantly shares the insight that whatever the parent does the child does and in the perspective of dental health, this phrase was dubbed as co-brushing.

Co-brushing is an ideal practice that can enforce and reenforce brushing among kids with ages one to seven years old. Oh well, my boy is already past seven but I thought I would not lose anything by trying it. I had to discipline myself to wait for him to finish his meals so we could brush and floss together. At first he was resistant and I was impatient but in the succeeding months we both got used to it. Also, I took this opportunity to teach him the right way to brush and floss.

I am also keen about him getting off the habit of eating sweets and drinking sodas. And so, I myself had to refrain from ingesting them. As the saying goes, ‘practice what you preach’. Take a look at this wonderful infographic I found. I thought, all the reminders I ought to tell my son are summed up here.

Keep smiling by avoiding dental decay

Explore more infographics like this one on the web’s largest information design community – Visually.

Leave a Reply

